Board of Directors

The Society is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of community leaders. Directors are elected by the membership for a three-year term. Initial terms can range from 1-3 years depending on which class the Director is placed in. The Directors are further divided into three “classes” so that one-third of the Board comes up each year for reelection, which allows for continuity.

Officers are elected by the Board of Directors and serve for a one-year term that coincides with the Society’s fiscal year that runs from January 1st to December 31st. Positions include the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer.

Board of Directors

Mr. Sal Miwa
President & CEO
Myland Hawaii Realty

Vice Chair
Mr. Steve Sombrero
Cushman & Wakefield ChaneyBrooks

Ms. Betty Brow
Financial Advisor
Merrill Lynch

Ms. Masako S. Ruiz
Assurance Manager
Accuity LLP

Mr. David Asanuma
Retired Director, Community Relations
JTB Hawaii

Mr. Tab Bowers
Executive Vice President, Marketing & Business Development
American Savings Bank

Ms. Sachi Braden
President & Principal Broker
Sachi Hawaii Pacific Century Properties LLC

Mr. Stanford Carr
Stanford Carr Development LLC

Mr. Daniel Dinell
Hawaii Coffee Company

Admiral Thomas Fargo
Former Commander
U.S. Pacific Command

Ms. Brenda Foster
Shidler College of Business

Mr. Dennis Francis
President & Publisher
Honolulu Star-Advertiser

Mr. Gerard Gibson
Area Vice President & Managing Director
Hilton Hotels Corporation in Hawaii

Mr. Douglas Goto
The Pacific Bridge Companies

Mr. Howard Hamamoto
Quarters Inc.

Mr. Robert Harrison
Chairman & CEO
First Hawaiian Bank

Mr. Tsukasa Harufuku
President & CEO
JTB Hawaii

Ms. Dawn Hirai
Senior Vice President
Stryker Weiner & Yokota Public Relations

Mr. Robert Ichikawa
Managing Partner
Kobayashi, Sugita & Goda LLP

Mrs. Atsuko Igarashi
Past Chair
Tomodachi Committee

Mr. Denis Isono
Executive Vice President, Corporate Services
Central Pacific Bank

Mr. Duane Kawamoto
Food & Beverage Manager
Neiman Marcus

Mr. Darryl Kawano
Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Unicold Corporation

Mrs. Karen Knudsen
Director, Office of External Affairs
East-West Center

Ms. Susan Kosasa
Former Office Manager
Thomas S. Kosasa, M.D.

Mr. Akemi Kurokawa
The Breakers at Waikiki

Mrs. Kazuko Love
Past Chair
Tomodachi Committee

Mr. Toshiya Matsumoto
Vice President, International Banking Division
Bank of Hawaii

Ambassador (RET) Lauren Moriarty
Retired U.S. Ambassador

Mr. Hiroyasu Nakamura
Senior Vice President, Secretary & Treasurer
Halekulani Corporation

Mr. Gary Oda
Allied Builders System

Dr. Dennis Ogawa
Nippon Golden Network

Mr. Lawrence Okinaga
Carlsmith Ball LLP

Ms. Jean Rolles
Education Committee (K – 12)

Mr. Joichi Saito
Chairman Emeritus
Central Pacific Bank

Mr. Toshihiro Shoji
Vice President & Regional Manager
Japan Airlines

Mr. Todd Takayama
Vice President of Commercial Lines
First Insurance Company of Hawaii

Ms. Barbara Tanabe
President & Owner
Hoakea Communications LLC

Mrs. Ina Tateuchi
Atsuhiko & Ina Goodwin Tateuchi Foundation

Mr. Daryl Tokashiki
Senior Vice President
Servco Insurance Services

Ms. Jill Tokunaga
Senior Director, North America and Hawaii Sales
Hawaiian Airlines

Mr. Dennis Tsuhako
Accuity LLP

Mr. Tsuyoshi Tsurumi
President & Co-founder

Lokahi Foundation

Ms. Sharon Weiner
Former Senior Advisor
DFS Group LP